Mani #5 – Reader’s Choice # 1

Thank you to everyone who voted in my first Reader’s Choice poll!  I tried not to check the results while the poll was open, but I couldn’t resist.   I did an unofficial reveal on Twitter last night after closing the poll.  The color with the most votes was Sinful Colors Ocean Side.  China Glaze Kinetic Candy wasn’t that far behind, so I’ll be doing a swatch of that soon. I did use Kinetic Candy for the dots on my nails.

Ocean Side is a harder to find, older color.  It’s number is 962, and all newer Sinful Colors are numbered in the 1000s.  You can pick it up in the Study in Style display.  This color seems to have gone quickly at the Walgreens around my area, so I’m glad I picked it up when I did (I picked it up with Leap Flog and Winterberry).

Ocean Side went on just like normal for Sinful Colors.  I love the formula used for these cremes, and in two coats it was opaque.  I usually don’t wear anymore than two coats of my main color.

I’m not really sure how to explain this color.  It’s a really different shade of blue.  I found that, depending what lighting I was in, the polish would look more green than blue .  When I was testing this color against another Sinful Colors blue, Ocean Side leaned more to the green side.  If you’re planning on stamping over this, keep that in mind.  It doesn’t look like any green would pull from this color, but it does, making the color more on the teal side.

I added three small dots along the edge of my nail in China Glaze Kinetic Candy.  I think I’m just going to start adding dots if I don’t do stamping or marbling.  I have no artistic talent to draw anything on my nails!  I don’t think I could even do basic lines.  I used the tip of a bobby pin to make the dots.

Onto the pictures.  My camera does not like blues, so I’m not sure how color accurate my photos can even get.  It was just a really crummy week for pictures.  I’m also going to try something new with my pictures and use a gallery.  Click on a picture to make it bigger and click the X or hit the Esc button to close.

Can you see how different this color looks between the indoor and outdoor shots?  The most accurate is the outdoor shot.   Regardless, I love this Ocean Side.  I think it’s my favorite of the blues I have from Sinful Colors.

Color(s) Used: Sinful Colors – Ocean Side, China Glaze Kinetic Candy

Nail Art: Dots

Recommendation: If you’re someone who loves to wear blues, then go out and grab this color!  I didn’t put a base coat on before application, so I’m hoping this blue doesn’t stain.  I’ve never had a problem with staining with the Sinful Colors line.  Availability will vary depending on your location.  Ocean Side can be found in the Study in Style display.  Remember that Sinful Colors go on sale next Sunday at Walgreens!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sandy
    Jul 15, 2012 @ 16:08:18

    I love this color! I have Ocean Side, but I found it with another display, I think it may even have been the core colors. In my area, I can’t go by the display; I found Winterberry in the Neons display, and it was the last one! This is a gorgeous mani!

    Reply

    • WanderingSoul
      Jul 15, 2012 @ 21:32:24

      Thanks! If you don’t get in on the displays shortly after they’re set, who knows what you’re going to find and where you’re going to find it. If I’m searching for a color, I tend to go through all the displays, just to make sure.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Copyright Info

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Blog Stats

  • 15,025 visits
