My View on Sinful Colors

As someone who loves using Sinful Colors and owns a number of bottles, I felt that it was time to express my view on what happened.  I didn’t want to post  anything until I had some time to think about what has happened

What Happened

News broke earlier this week that blogger photos had been stolen for the pamphlet that’s available at Walgreens with the big Sinful Colors display.  The nail art was also featured on the display.  In fact, I posted about that exact pamphlet here, long before the news broke.  The post was written from my view of the written directions, not the photos, although something did not seem right about the photos.  The photos had been edited to remove watermarks and the manicures had been done using polish from other companies.

Revlon (the parent company of Sinful Colors), has reached out to the bloggers affected and have made a statement on Facebook.  I am glad to see that this company wants to handle this quickly and has said so in such a public way.  To me, that shows that Revlon cares about the consumers that buy their products and they want to set things right with those bloggers that have been affected.

We may never know exactly what happened.  I have read a few theories about why this happened.  It could have been an intern.  It could have been an outside  company hired to do this promotion. It might have been a last minute graphics job.  If we find out, we find out.  If we don’t, we don’t.

I know how hard some of the bloggers work on their photos that they post.  I don’t work nearly as hard because I don’t have the programs I need to make my photos what I wish they were.  I do try to make them the best that they can be with what I have.

Boycott

I know that many people are planning on boycotting Revlon/Sinful Colors.  Those people have the right to make that choice – it’s not one I can make for them.  I will respect that choice.

I believe that it’s premature to decide to boycott this company.  They are working to make things right as quickly as possible.  The most important thing is to make sure the bloggers affected are happy with the outcome.  We also don’t know exactly what happened.  Revlon wants to correct this wrong and prevent it from happening again.

For a boycott to even affect a company, there would have to be an overwhelming amount of consumers to stop buying their products.  Yes, their products-not just nail polish.  With a company of Revlon’s size, not everyone purchases just polish.  Those consumers that don’t purchase polish or aren’t involved in the blogging community most likely will not be aware of what’s going on.  The only reason some of those people may know what’s happening is if they “like” Revlon on Facebook.  Consumers would also have to be aware of companies Revlon is parent to, such as Sinful Colors.  I don’t see a boycott happening that will affect Revlon like some people hope.

Again, it is up to you if you boycott or not.  I’m choosing, at this point, not to boycott.  I am also choosing not to post hateful things about this situation.

Other Opinions

Most of the visitors to my blog are looking for Sinful Color swatches.  That shows me that people want to see what these colors look like.  I plan to get two colors up very soon because of blog hits.

I do not agree with stealing other bloggers photos, especially for something that was a nation wide promotion.  I seriously considered the fact that my photos could be stolen before starting my blog.  I didn’t know if I wanted to put in the work for that very thing.  I know that my photos could be used by someone else, especially on sites like eBay.  That’s a risk all of us take, no matter what kind of blog you write.  I can’t say how I’d feel if my photos were used for something I did not consent to.  I would hope that I’d be asked and cited as the owner of the photo.  I know that’s not always going to be the case.

This is not the first time a major company has done something like this, and it won’t be the last.  It’s not the first time a polish brand, big or small, has created uproar among the people that love their products.

I’d rather support a company that cares about those who use their products and tries to right a wrong than a company that could care less and focuses on themselves and their profit.  That, I believe, is the main reason I will not boycott Sinful Colors.

If you’d like to leave a comment, please do, but know that I will be moderating them.  Please keep them respectful, free from foul language, and free from attacks.

Thank you for taking the time to read this.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Charis
    Jul 26, 2012 @ 16:00:26

    Lovely job.
    I for one agree with what you’ve said. It is outrageous and unprofessional that photos would be taken and used without permission, however, the fact remains that it happend, and can’t be taken back. Personally, what happens from here is what’s important to me as a consumer and will determine if I continue to support them.
    If Revlon/Sinful Colors is willing the acknowledge the error publicly, and do what must be done to make it right with the blogger/photographers then I will stand by them. If not, then I will consider that if it happens.
    Thanks for writing a great post! 🙂

    Reply

    • WanderingSoul
      Jul 26, 2012 @ 16:27:50

      Thanks for your comment and support! There was so much anger directed at Revlon after it first happened. I didn’t want to make a judgement on this until knowing both sides of the story. Revlon jumped on the problem so quickly, and for a big company to be on it like that, I think that’s amazing. It seems that so many people are focused on the bad, and not the good of this situation.

      What happens next will also determine if I support them in the future or not. Revlon is headed on the right track though, and I’m glad they’ve made it public knowledge.

      Reply

  2. skaytanik
    Jul 26, 2012 @ 20:28:39

    Well said 🙂 At least they apologized & are trying to fix it, instead of being like “Oh, well tough shit” because honestly, they’re big enough to do that. On the bright side, I’m sure there’s a blogger out there who is about to get a nice chunk of pocket change 🙂

    Reply

    • WanderingSoul
      Jul 26, 2012 @ 20:41:44

      Thanks. Because they’ve apologized and are trying to fix this problem is the reason I’ve chosen not to boycott. They could have just ignored the problem. The way Revlon responded sounds like they didn’t know what had happened. If it’s money or some other compensation, I hope the bloggers end up happy in the end. That will be the deciding factor for me, to stick with them or not.

      Reply

  3. Nicole
    Jul 27, 2012 @ 22:07:57

    Well said. I think you hit the points well and made your statement politely and effectively. I’m not planning to boycott but that does mean much cuz I think I own a total of 2 SCs anyway. I’m glad they’re trying to remedy the situation tho. Mistakes happen, you just gotta fix em! 🙂

    Reply

    • WanderingSoul
      Jul 27, 2012 @ 22:17:04

      Thank you. I would hate to boycott SC because I love their colors and affordability, but I want to see how things play out. I think Revlon/SC has a lot riding on what happens, but it seems like they want to do the right thing and jumped on this shortly after people started saying something. Hopefully we’ll find out what they’ve done to turn the situation around.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Copyright Info

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Blog Stats

  • 14,873 visits
